Skip to Content

Second Chapter: The Box Set

More Books:

Small Eden
The London Collection
At the Stroke of Nine O’Clock

Second Chapter: The Box Set


A collection of three novels in eBook format from an award winning author

‘Jane Davis crafts imaginative ideas into beautiful prose. Each book is a jewel so this box set is a trove of treasures.’ ~ J J Marsh, Founder of Triskele Books and Author of the Beatrice Stubbs Series

‘Like Margaret Atwood, Davis seems to be able to conjour a fresh, new voice and style for every story, be it a man’s rediscovery of his mother through her photographs, the taboo of pupil/teacher relationships outside the classroom or a haunting tale of a young girl and her visions.’ ~ Peter Snell, Bookseller

But what do the featured novels have in common? It took me some time to work out that the common theme running through my novels is the influence that missing persons have in our lives. In my experience, that influence can actually be greater than that of those who are present. In I Stopped Time, it was an estranged mother. I addressed the theme head-on in A Funeral for an Owl which considers teenage runaways. And in These Fragile Things mother Elaine is obsessed by the child she lost, almost to the exclusion of the child she has. Fiction is never going to provide a complete answer, but it does force both writer and reader to walk in another person’s shoes. And, in many ways, it is the exploration and not the answer that is important.’

I Stopped Time

Wouldn’t you feel cheated if the woman you’d imagined was the villain of your childhood turned out to be someone rather extraordinary?

A Funeral for an Owl

A powerful exploration of the ache of loss, set in a landscape where broken people can find each other.


These Fragile Things

Life can change in a split second. And there will be nothing you can do to stop it.

These Fragile Things

Praise for the author

‘When a story pulls you into it so you care about the characters and believe in every moment you’re with them, and in addition the quality of writing enriches your experience, you’ve found something special. That’s how I feel about Jane Davis’ work.’ Jean Gill, Author and Photographer

‘You’ll love this if you enjoy books with great characters such as those by Maggie O’Farrell, Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler.’ Bookmuse

‘Intellectually and emotionally engaging.’ James Metcalf, book blogger and reviewer

‘That Jane Davis is an important new writer is a given.’ Grady Harp, reviewer

‘Davis is a phenomenal writer, whose ability to create well rounded characters that are easy to relate to feels effortless.’ Compulsion Reads

‘Jane is not afraid to get stuck into some meaty themes and present her characters with thought-provoking emotional dilemmas.’ Sharon Avidreader

‘I read all Jane’s novels and I could not pick my favourite. They are all different, but they hold one similarity, namely the author’s gift of storytelling.’ Anna from Poland

‘This author never fails to make you think about wider issues.’ MIF

‘Clever stories, brilliantly told.’ Sarah Diss

‘Jane Davis has the insight and sensitivity of a great writer.’ Awesome Indies.

‘Davis has an incredible knack for making everything count.’ Amie McCracken

‘A brilliantly imaginative and quirkily fresh take on the world. Brimful of originality and creativity.’ The Literary Consultancy

Read a preview

Click on the Preview button below image.

Ready to buy?

Second Chapter is available to purchase from all major digital retailers. Just use the Universal Link and select your favourite store!  

Each book in this collection has been endorsed by Awesome Indies and Compulsion Reads

aia_webadge reduced

I Stopped Time and A Funeral for an Owl have been recommended by Bookmuse

Bookmuse Award Badge reduced

Publication Details:

Published: February 1, 2015
Publisher: Jane Davis
Book Type: ebook
Book Format: epub/mobi/PDF
Kindle ASIN: B00STUSK50

Available At These Locations: